Tuesday, December 15, 2015

Review: Life Is _____ Forty-Day Experience A Devotional Journey Through God's Illogical Love By Judah Smith

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 677 KB
  • Print Length: 205 pages
  • Publisher: Thomas Nelson (Nov. 10 2015)
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Canada Limited
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00XPV623K

Book Description

 What is life? What are we here for? What will bring us true satisfaction and lasting happiness? In this companion to his highly-anticipated new book, Life Is ___, New York Times and USA Today best-selling author Judah Smith takes readers on a forty-day devotional journey through Scripture to find the answers to these and others of our deepest questions. In forty daily readings, Judah helps readers understand that the meaning of life is found in loving and being loved, in enjoying God to the fullest, in trusting Him in every moment, and remaining at peace with God, others, and ourselves. This thought-provoking and inspiring collection of meditations is sure to reveal new and illuminating truths about what God intends for every person's life.

About the Author

 Judah Smith is the lead pastor of the City of Church in Seattle, Washington. The City Church is a thriving multisite church noted for its cultural relevance, commitment to biblical integrity and faith, and love for Jesus. Judah is known round the United States and the world for his preaching ministry. His fresh, anointed, humorous messages demystify the Bible and make Christianity real. Judah is also the author of his most recent New York Times bestselling book, Jesus Is _____.

My Review

Life Is _____ Forty-Day Experience A Devotional Journey Through God's Illogical Love By Judah Smith is the companion book to Life Is___.: God's Illogical Love Will Change Your Existence. I see on Amazon that there also is a study guide.

I have done 40 day bible studies before as an entire church and I find them to be very effective in bringing everyone in the church together. When everyone is reading the same book and thinking about the same things, you have a lot to talk about! I think Life Is would be a great study for a church to do together.

 The book is divided into four sections:

  1. Section 1: Life Is To Be Loved and to Love
  2. Section 2: Life Is to Trust God in Every Moment
  3. Section 3: Life Is to Be At Peace With God and Yourself
  4. Section 4: Life Is to Enjoy God
Why is there a blank in the title? Because author Judah Smith freely admits that he does not have all the answers. Smith is just here to point us at Jesus. Each day (chapter) has a reading from the bible that you need to look up in your bible, a devotional and questions.

This is an easy to read, insightful devotional that is a great 40 day study.

No comments:

Post a Comment