Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Review: Hiss and Hers: An Agatha Raisin Mystery (Agatha Raisin #23) by M.C. Beaton

  • File Size: 330 KB
  • Print Length: 305 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0312616252
  • Publisher: Minotaur Books; First Edition edition (September 18, 2012)
  • Sold by: Macmillan
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00820TUYM

Book Description

 If only the bossy, beloved Agatha Raisin were as lucky at finding the right man as she is at catching killers in M. C. Beaton's New York Times bestselling mystery series

Celebrating the twentieth anniversary of everyone's favorite sleuth, M. C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin is as feisty as ever—armed with her famous wit and biting sense of humor. This time, though, there's some biting of a whole other sort going on. Agatha has fallen head over heels in love—again. This time, she has her eye on the local gardener, George Marston, but so do other women in their little Cotswold village. Shamelessly determined, Agatha will do anything to get her man—including footing the bill for a charity ball just for the chance to dance with him. And then George doesn't even show up. Only partly deterred, Agatha goes looking for him, and finds his dead body in a compost heap. Murder is definitely afoot, but this killer chose no ordinary weapon: A poisonous snake delivered the fatal strike.

Rising to the occasion, Agatha rallies her little detective agency to find the killer, only to learn that George had quite a complicated love life. But murderously complicated? Well, if she can't have George, at least Agatha can have the satisfaction of confronting the other women and solving the crime. With Hiss & Hers, once again, "M. C. Beaton has a foolproof plot for the village mystery" (The New York Times Book Review) in the irresistible adventures of the irrepressible Agatha.

About the Author

M. C. Beaton has won international acclaim for her bestselling Hamish Macbeth mysteries, and the BBC has aired twenty–four episodes based on the series. Also the author of the Agatha Raisin books, M. C. Beaton lives in a Cotswold cottage with her husband.

My Review

I just utterly and completely adore Agatha Raisin.  Always a treat to read the books in this series.  So thrilled that Agatha stays true to form in each novel.  All of the supporting players are along for the ride such as Mrs. Bloxby, Roy, James, Toni and her cats.  Of course Agatha is blindly chasing after another unsuitable character who manages to get offed in the first chapters of the book.  It is the usual madcap adventure as Agatha and her team stumble around solving the crime.  Lots of twists and turns and even some danger thrown in.  Love visiting Carsely with Agatha again and again.

Another winner from M.C. Beaton...cannot wait for the next one!

No comments:

Post a Comment