Saturday, June 25, 2016

Review: Death at the Day Lily Cafe (Rosalie Hart #2) by Wendy Sand Eckel

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • Print Length: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Minotaur Books (July 26 2016)
  • Sold by: Macmillan CA
  • Language: English

Book Description

Rosalie Hart has finally opened the café of her dreams. Decked out with ochre-tinted walls and stuffed with delicious organic fare, the Day Lily Café is everything Rosalie could have hoped for. But not five minutes into the grand opening, Doris Bird, a dear and trusted friend, cashes in on a favor--to help clear her little sister Lori of a first degree murder charge.

With the help of her best friend and head waiter Glenn, Rosalie is on the case. But it's not going to be easy. Unlikable and provocative, murder victim Carl James Fiddler seems to have insulted nearly everyone in town, and the suspect list grows daily. And when Rosalie's daughter Annie gets caught in the crossfire, the search for the killer becomes personal in this charming cozy perfect for fans of Diane Mott Davidson and Joanne Fluke.

About the Author

I grew up in a small Ohio town, but decided while studying the states and their capitals in the fourth grade that I would one day live in Maryland. I really liked the flag. Maryland has been my home for almost thirty years.

The first story I ever wrote was about a discarded vacuum cleaner that makes its way back home. When I later saw the movie, The Brave Little Toaster, I was flabbergasted. They stole my idea!

In high school I worked in the shop rack of my father’s Pontiac dealership where I ran parts and prepped new cars. In my leisure time, I learned to play a pretty mean front man on a foosball table.

I majored in Social Work in both graduate and undergraduate school with concentrations in criminology and family therapy. I have spent my career learning how relationships effect our thoughts, emotions, desires, and inhibitions, or in some cases, lack thereof.

Writing mystery is a way to combine my love for the written word with the knowledge I’ve gained about the workings of the human heart. It is a dream realized.

My Review

Death at the Day Lily Cafe is the second book in the Rosalie Hart series by author Wendy Sand Eckel.

I like Rosalie Hart. She is a warm-hearted and intelligent woman. In the first book in the series, Rosalie was newly divorced but in Death at the Day Lily Cafe, Rosalie has come to accept and enjoy her new life. Her cafe venture is doing better than she hoped. She has made some wonderful friends. Her daughter is living with her. And that good looking handyman is still fact they are business partners on her farm.

Rosalie's friend Doris needs her help. Doris's sister Lori is on the sheriff's radar for the murder of her husband. Lori's husband CJ was not well liked. In fact he had offended nearly everyone in town at some point so there are plenty of suspects.

Death at the Day Lily Cafe is an enjoyable cozy mystery. It is well written. The characters are both realistic and enjoyable.

I definitely recommend Death at the Day Lily Cafe.

No comments:

Post a Comment