Saturday, June 4, 2016

Review: The Innocents (Quinn Colson #6) by Ace Atkins

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • Print Length: 384 pages
  • Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons (July 12 2016)
  • Sold by: Penguin Group USA
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01BD1SU8S

Book Description

The extraordinary new novel in the New York Timesbestselling author’s acclaimed series about the real Deep South—“a joy ride into the heart of darkness” (The Washington Post).

She was just seventeen, a high school dropout named Milly Jones, found walking down the middle of the highway, engulfed in flames. Even in a tough Mississippi county like Tibbehah, it shatters the community, and it is up to Sheriff Quinn Colson, back on the job after a year away, and his deputy Lillie Virgil, to investigate what happened and why. Before long, however, accusations start to fly, national media and federal authorities descend, and what seemed like a senseless act of violence begins to appear like something even more disturbing—with more victims waiting in the shadows.

About the Author

Ace Atkins is the author of eight novels, including his latest, Infamous, from G.P. Putnam’s Sons.

A former journalist who cut his teeth as a crime reporter in the newsroom of The Tampa Tribune, he published his first novel, Crossroad Blues, at 27 and became a full-time novelist at 30.

While at the Tribune, Ace earned a Pulitzer Prize nomination for a feature series based on his investigation into a forgotten murder of the 1950s. The story became the core of his critically acclaimed novel, White Shadow, which earned raves from noted authors and critics. In his next novels, Wicked City, Devil’s Garden, and now Infamous, Ace continues to carve a new a niche as both a talented storyteller and a meticulous journalist, blending first-hand interviews and original research into police and court records with tightly woven plots and incisive characters. Ace’s novels tell great American stories, weaving fact and fiction into a colorful, seamless tapestry.

Infamous, Devil’s Garden, Wicked City, and White Shadow are all very personal books for Atkins, all set in his former and current homes: San Francisco, where he lived as a child; Alabama, his family’s home and where he was born and went to college; and Tampa, where he embarked on his career as a writer and now the MidSouth where he now calls home.

Each novel contains bits of himself—friends and colleagues he once knew, people he respected or admired, family members, and personal heroes.

Right now, Ace is developing a new series for his longtime publisher—home to Tom Clancy, Patricia Cornwell, Robert Crais, John Sandford, and Robert B. Parker—set in rural Mississippi. The first of these novels will hit stores in Spring 2011.

Ace lives on a historic farm outside Oxford, Mississippi with his family.

My Review

The Innocents is the sixth book in the Quinn Colson series by author Ace Atkins. This is a fabulous series. I have now read all six books in the series. They are all great reads. I have been enjoying getting to know the characters better in each new book in the series.

In The Innocents, Quinn is no longer the sheriff of Mississippi's Tibbehah County. But Lillie is and she needs his help. Quinn has been away. His long absent father has set up home on Quinn's farm. Quinn's mother is not happy about that. Anna Mae is still around but hopefully her allure is starting to wear off.

A young woman dies after being set on fire. Who is responsible? Is it the new owner of The Rebel stripper bar? One of her parents...both who had abandoned her? One of the county's young men? What sinister secrets was young Millie party to?

Great story. Very well written.

Highly recommend The Innocents! Be sure to read the entire Quinn Colson series.


  1. i just finished this one as well. Did you know it's inspired by a real-life mystery/horror story? It's truly horrific.

  2. I've just installed iStripper, and now I enjoy having the sexiest virtual strippers on my desktop.