Monday, November 18, 2013

Review: The Broken Places: Quinn Colson Series, Book 3 (A Quinn Colson Novel) by Ace Atkins

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1322 KB
  • Print Length: 369 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0399161783
  • Publisher: Putnam Adult (May 30 2013)
  • Sold by: Penguin Group USA
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00AI52PAK

Book Description

 The remarkable third novel in the �harrowing” (Associated Press), �killer” (Minneapolis Star Tribune) new series about the real Deep South from the New York Times�bestselling author.

A year after becoming sheriff, Quinn Colson is faced with the release of an infamous murderer from prison. Jamey Dixon comes back to Jericho preaching redemption, and some believe him; but for the victim’s family, the only thought is revenge.

Another group who doesn’t believe him—the men in prison from Dixon’s last job, an armored car robbery. They’re sure he’s gone back to grab the hidden money, so they do the only thing they can: break out and head straight to Jericho themselves.

Colson and his deputy, Lillie, know they’ve got their work cut out for them. But they don’t count on one more unwelcome visitor: a tornado that causes havoc just as events come to a head. Communications are down, the roads are impassable—and the rule of law is just about to snap.

About the Author

 Ace Atkins, a former Pulitzer-nominated journalist, has written twelve previous novels, including The Ranger and The Lost Ones, the Edgar-nominated first novels in the Quinn Colson series. In 2011, he was selected by the Robert B. Parker Estate to continue the iconic Spenser series, which he has done with the bestsellers Robert B. Parker’s Lullaby and Robert B. Parker’s Wonderland. His previous novels include the historical crime novels, White Shadow, Wicked City, Devil’s Garden, and Infamous, and the Nick Travers series that launched his writing career. Atkins lives in Oxford, Mississippi.

My Review

Great author of a great series. I love the Quinn Colson series. Similar to the Lee Child Jack Reacher series but more realistic.  Another great story involving Quinn's sister Caddy's latest boyfriend...a former convict turned preacher. Always the type of person I'm wary of in real life. And Caddy should be wary too but she hopes she has finally found the real thing, and true love.

Lots of action involving escaped convicts and long missing treasure. Corrupt local politicians and corrupt local lawmen. Add in a tornado that rips the town apart.  A lot for Sheriff Quinn Colson to take on. But he does with the help of his deputy Lillie.  Quinn has been cleaning up his Mississippi county since he left the army and it looks like his work is far from over.

Time for y'all to start reading and enjoying this series!

No comments:

Post a Comment